HealPriest Raiding Guide

I’m almost done with the Guide that I’ve been working on for our guild webpage and I’ll have that up here soon.  I’m going to list my gear recomendations, I’d like some feedback.  I mostly used Kaliban’s Loot Guide and my memory for this and I want to make sure there aren’t any other good options that I’m missing.  There will be no links here, you’ll have to WoWHead the items yourself, but when I post the guide in it’s entirety there will be links. 

Thanks for your input!

The Primal Mooncloth and Whitemend sets are HIGHLY recommended for Priests. I wrote an article in my blog about why, but here’s the short version. The Tailoring gear is comparable to Tier 4 stuff. The +Heal on Tier 4 is about 60 less than the Tailoring, but the other stats are higher. Tailoring is also available at 70 (assuming your Tailoring is high enough, PMC is BoP) and you have to get all the way through Magtheridon to get all of Tier 4.Here are some specific gear recomendations for each slot before entering Kara. These are by no means the only options and I’ve tried to include items from various sources (quests, instances, badge rewards, and heroic instances)

  • Head – I definatley recommend Whitemend Hood, it is BOE crafted by Tailors; the mats are expensive but well worth the effort. Other than that my best recomendation would be Watchers Cowl which you can get from Cenarion Expedition at Revered
  • Neck – The best option in my opinion is Necklace of Eternal Hope, available as a badge reward. Some other options are Necklace of Resplendent Hope and Natasha’s Guardian Cord
  • Shoulders – If you are a Tailor Primal Mooncloth Shoulders are the best. If not, Hallowed Pauldrons and Pauldrons of Sufferance are other choices.
  • BackApexis Cloak is one of the best options, available at Revered with Ogril’la. Other options are Cloak of Scintillating Auras, Light-Touched Stole of Altruism, and Cloak of the Everliving
  • Chest – Again Primal Mooncloth Robe is your best option with Tailoring. Others are Hallowed Garmets, Raimaments of Divine Authority, and Anchorites Robes.
  • Wrist – As with most casters, items for this slot are few and far between. The best option if you have the time for the rep grind is Bindings of the Timewalker, available at Exalted with Keepers of Time. Goldenvine Wraps or Shattrath Wraps are both Quest rewards.
  • HandsHallowed Handwraps or Prismatic Mittens of Mending are both good options until you get T4
  • WaistPrimal Mooncloth Belt is your best bet. Otherwise Cord of Sanctification or Cord of Belief.
  • LegsWhitemend Pants are BOE and the best option (again, expensive though). Pontifex Kilt is an excellent alternative, Hallowed Trousers, and Pontiff’s Pantaloons of Prophecy are also options.
  • Feet – I highly recommend Boots of the Pious from the Calculator in Heroic Mechanar.  If you don’t want to do Heroics, the go with Jeweled Boots of Sanctification from Shattered Halls
  • Rings – Any two of the following options are good choices Band of Halos, Keeper’s Ring of Piety, Cosmic Lifeband, Band of the Crystalline Void, Ring of Fabled Hope, and Ring of Convalescence.
  • Trinket – This is a slot where I like to itemize for mana regen. The best options for that are Talasite Owl if you are a Jewelcrafter, Bangle of Endless Blessings, and Lower City Prayerbook. Scarab of the Infinite Cycle is also a good choice (I find it procs very often and the Spell Haste is nice). Also Essence of the Martyr is a good choice from Badges
  • Weapons – In general terms, Staff’s will give better Sta and Int, while Mace/Off Hand will give better +Healing. Decide which is more important for you and choose accordingly.
    • Staff options: Serpentcrest Life-Staff and Epoch-Mender.
    • Mace options: Shockwave Truncheon from Heroic Sethekk Halls, Hand of Eternity crafted by Blacksmiths, or Gavel of Pure Light available at Exalted with Shatar are all comparable and will give you the most +Heal. They are all also relativley dificult to obtain. Other options are Hammer of the Penitent or Lightsworn Hammer.
    • Off-Hand Options: Tears of Heaven, Lamp of Peaceful Repose, and Swamplight Lantern
Explore posts in the same categories: Gear, Raiding

7 Comments on “HealPriest Raiding Guide”

  1. Ratshag Says:

    Nice compilation, Gal. If I weren’t such a lazy bugger I’d be inspired to sumthin’ similars for warriors. Just FYI – Gavel of Light comes from the Sha’tar, not keepers of Time. Figgered I’d say something before some poor sod up and runs Black Morass an extra 20 times for it … 🙂

  2. Galadria Says:

    @Rashtag
    That is exactly why I posted this list here! I’ve got soup for brains most days! Thanks!

  3. BethL Says:

    A small suggestion for the wrists:
    If you can’t stand the grind for Keepers of Time, the Veteran’s Mooncloth Cuffs (or whatever the next season’s equivalent are, coming out tomorrow) are pretty good. I also got the Vet. Mooncloth feet as well…which reminds me..what are your recommendations for feet?

  4. krill Says:

    For the old skoolers among us.
    These are still good pre-kara;

    offhand: Lei of the Lifegiver +53 healing, 3mp5 (AV rep reward)
    trinket: Rejuvination gem +66 healing, 9mp5 (BWL)

    Also you forgot boots.
    Bracers and boots are a pain to upgrade pre-kara in my humble opinoin. Why o why did they make Boots of the long road BoP :-/

  5. Galadria Says:

    @BethL
    I left off PvP rewards… I don’t like it so I pretend it doesn’t exist, but for just about all casters the PvP bracers will last you into Kara so that is a good sugestion.

    I forgot feet! I will fix that in the morning! For feet I definatley recommend Boots of the Pious off of The Calculator in H Mech. I’m still wearing them and we’re well into Kara (all but Nightbane and Netherspite) and the feet off of Aran (Boots of the incorrupt) are only a marginal upgrade. The drop rate isn’t bad and it’s the easiest Heroic. If you don’t want to do Heroics, Jeweled Boots of Sanctification are the next best bet (Warbringer O’mrogg in Shattered Halls) also not a bad drop rate.

  6. Nanouk Says:

    Shockwave Truncheon is from Heroic Shadow Lab not Sethekk Halls.

  7. Galadria Says:

    @Nanouk
    I have it fixed in the complete version of the guide (up there in the Pages section), I forgot to fix it here. Thanks!


Comments are closed.


