Spell Review : Binding Heal

This one is fairly straightforward, but it’s a good spell and therefore worth reviewing!  Here is Ego’s post on this spell, good info there too. 

As always… from the begining.

Tooltip

Cast Time: 1.5 secs  Range: 40 yds

“Heals a friendly target and the caster for XX to XX. Low threat.”

Mechanics – What does the tooltip mean?

As I said earlier, this one is fairly self explanitory.  Heals target and caster at the same time.  Very nice for keeping the tank up when you’ve taken some damage.  The low threat part is where this one shines.  I’ve never seen any kind of theorycrafting on exactly how much lower the threat is for this spell, but I’ll take whatever I can get.  Since your healing 2 targets the threat might otherwise be… ugly. 

Between the Lines – What the tooltip doesn’t say.

The downside for this one is the mana efficency… it kinda sucks.  It gets a good coefficent from your gear so it gets better as your gear but gets better, but still.  It is an emergency type spell and in order to mantain balance it’s going to be inefficent.  It’s basically 2 Flash Heals in the time it takes to cast one, which is the good part.  My only wish about this spell is that I’d like to be able to specify 2 targets instead of myself and another, but the logistics of that kind of suck so I’ll just keep on wishing 🙂 

Tips, Tricks, and Pitfalls

Binding Heal is terribly usefull when you have pulled aggro off of the tank.  Whatever hapened, you took a couple of good whacks and through whatever means they’re back beating on the tank and now you both need to be healed.  Since it’s low threat you can cast with out worrying about pulling aggro back on to yourself and since it heals both of you you’ve killed several birds with one stone.  When I pull aggro I will usually chain cast this spell until one of us is topped off then return to normal healing.  It’s espcially nice since it’s a quick cast.

Related Macros

I don’t currently use any macros for this spell, but if you like to keep your tank as your focus you could set up a macro using modifiers to cast on your target or focus depending on the modifier.

SuperCoolPoints

“Harry called you his associate. What exactly does that mean? I mean, I never heard your name, or read it in Variety, or The Star, or anyplace. ”  “It’s what he said, I’m his associate.”  “You must bring something heavy to the deal.”  “I do: me.”

Name that movie!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Healery, Instance Tactics, Macros, Spells

6 Comments on “Spell Review : Binding Heal”

  1. Necro Says:

    Get shorty

  2. Galadria Says:

    @ Necro
    Sometimes I think you just read for the movie quotes 🙂

  3. Necro Says:

    sometimes I think your right….lol.

  4. Galadria Says:

    Who cares? The movie quotes are fun for me so if one person is getting a little enjoyment out of it, I’ll consider it worth the minimal amount of effort it takes 😉

  5. Kestrel Says:

    I’m clueless when it comes to movies, but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy seeing Necro always get the answer in first. 😉

    (Oh yeah…I also read for the stuff above the movie quote!)


Comments are closed.


