Priesty’s Little Helpers

Today, my friends, I’d like to introduce you to some of the addons that are near and dear to my heart. There are some people out there who dislike the use of addons and think it makes the game too easy… I am not one of those people! I’ll take anything that has a clean interface, lots of options to suit my ever changing moods and doesn’t clutter up my screen too badly. I’m not actually going to link these addons, there are several sites that will provide the download and I don’t want to advocate one over the other and I know that some work for me and others don’t… go Google the name and you’ll find it. Here we go:

  • VisualHeal – This one is one of my favorites. It adds a movable bar that shows up whenever you cast a heal. This bar shows your current target’s health and the expected value of the heal (and it seems fairly accurate). The extra bit that is your heal will change color (red>orange>yellow>green) based how much overhealing you will be doing by completing the cast. It will also show the expected value of a fellow’s heal (provided you both have the addon) in a dark green so you can judge if both of you need to complete your casts.
    • Pros: Very simple and clean, only takes up a small amount of screen space and goes away when your not casting a heal, if your groups other healers don’t want to use it, the bar can be turned off so they can’t see it, but it will still show their casts on your screen.
    • Cons: Is always going to be an estimation as there is no predicting a crit, doesn’t work for HOT’s.
  • SmartBuff – This one tracks the timers on buffs for yourself and everyone on your party/raid. When the timer reaches a predetermined threshold it will make a noise and/or splash a message on the screen. You can then scroll the mouse wheel, or a click on a movable button to cast the buff. There are MANY settings you can play with to suit your situations as well the ability to save and automatically switch settings on joining a raid/group.
    • Pros: Makes keeping a group/raid buffed easy, keeps buffs with annoyingly short timers (like Inner Fire) up all the time, it will cast group buffs when there are enough players missing the buff or singles if there aren’t enough, tracks reagents remaining in your bags, takes up no screen space unless you decide to use the button instead of mouse wheel.
    • Cons: has LOTS of settings so you have to be careful and make sure it’s doing things the way you want, it does not actually track buffs on other players it remembers the last time you cast them so if you cast manually it will think you need to re-cast before you actually do (you can fix this by leaving it disabled for about 5 mins and re-enabling it so it’ll loose it’s memory)
  • Perl – This one is a custom UI.  I could write an entire post about Perl but I’m just going to say I like it.  It replaces the normal party frames with sleek black boxes.  It has some nice options for cast bars, color coding for health bars, etc.  I think this is one of those things you just have to try out.  I’ll put in a screen shot when I get home tonight so you can get an idea of what it looks like.  I didn’t think I was going to like it, but my husband made me try it out and now I love it.

Those are the biggies.  I use a couple of small addons that aren’t really worth mentioning.  Most of those functionalities are available through the big packages (Titan or Cosmos) but those seemed like more trouble than they were worth to get set up.  Another I’ll mention is CTRaidAssist.  I installed it this week to try out with raiding.  The standard raid interface doesn’t show buffs and the debffs are really small and hard to see.  I liked the fact that CTRA showed buffs and debuffs clearly but I found it really hard to use.  When in a raid I do a lot of selecting with my mouse.  I was finding that I had to click in just the right place on the frame to select the target I wanted… that just doesn’t work for me.  And Sun night I couldn’t select the hunter at all, no matter where I clicked.  I’m open for sugestions for raid UI’s since I will be getting rid of CTRA.  What I really want in raid is to be able to see at least my buffs clearly, and have my curable debuffs show up clearly (maybe change the color of the frame so it jumps out at me).  CTRA does both of those things, but sadly I won’t be using it any more.

The moral of the story is:

  • Find the things out there to make your gameplay more enjoyable.

Tune in next week for:

  • Some thoughts on soloing as a healpriest.

Even though no one got last post’s movie quote, I’m going to give you another… “You don’t understand how serious this is, they killed my dog!”  As always, 10 SuperCoolPoints.

Explore posts in the same categories: Addons

11 Comments on “Priesty’s Little Helpers”

  1. Matticus Says:

    X Perl Unit Frames. You can enable or disable debuff viewing. Hope you have a lot of real estate to work with tough. It will show on the side whether or not certain players have fort, S:Protection, or DS. It will not show things like Arcane Brilliance or Mark of the Wild because those buffs are not relevant for you to know since you are not responsible for them.

    Guess I’ll follow the trend later on and do my own UI List.

  2. Galadria Says:

    lol… you’d think Kirk and I planed it… posting on the same subject at about the same time of day. Sounds like what I’m looking for… are the screenshots from your raid healing post XPerl?

  3. Brem Says:

    I’ve been using the ACE’D sRaid frames. Mine, admitttedly are part of the MazzleUI interface, but the raid frames rock. They show buffs you can cast and change colors (two different colors – Dispel Magic & Abolish Disease for instance) for debuffs you can cleanse.

  4. Trite Says:

    I’m a huge supporter of Grid. It may take a bit to get used to, but it is completely customizable. You can set it so that it will display a certain color in a corner of a person’s square when one of your buffs wears off, or they have a debuff you can cure.

    Paired with target=mouseover macros for my heals, using this Raidframe UI greatly increased my healing speed and reaction time.

  5. Galadria Says:

    @Brem
    I’ve never heard of that one… have to go look for some screen shots

    @Trite
    The target=mouseover thing seems cool.

    @Everyone
    you’ve all given me some things to think about… must ponder raid UI’s… Thanks!

  6. Matticus Says:

    Trite, I’ve noticed a lot of high end guilds use Grid. I’d use it too, but I have no idea how to translate that information into something I can understand :(.

  7. Brem Says:

    I realized on my commute home last night, that sRaid frames isn’t a complete solution. I use ORA and sRaid frames together for the perfect raid management. But since “I R NUB” I forgot to mention both halves. 🙂

  8. Galadria Says:

    @Brem
    lol.. “I R NUB”… thanks for completing your thought 🙂


  9. […] something. In The Holy Light and Priestly Endeavors, Galadria and Kirk both discuss the merits of various addons. Within minutes of each other, […]

  10. Eomer Says:

    I’d like to mention addon called Healbot. It does almost all you described here + allows click casting. It’s really nice to keep track of everyones health, cast, remove de-buffs, keep buffs up and looking for incoming heals from others.
    I started using it in the last Autumn (so almost a year 🙂 ) And I REALLY like it.
    I hope all healers give it a try.
    I’am holy priest (now 70). Our guild’s holy pala also uses it and she likes it too 🙂

  11. Galadria Says:

    @Eomer
    Thanks for the sugestion. I have heard good things about Healbot, but have never tried it my self. I’ll have to look into it a little more!


Comments are closed.


