Update

As I said in my last post, my friends and I left our guild and started a new one.  There were 6 of us who left to form the new guild.  We mainly had some issues with how raiding was handled.  We feel that the best players should go and the rest wait until their gear is better, their playstlye is better, or we’re doing good enough in there that we can cary some dead weight.  We also wanted to impliment some kind of DKP system (the previous guild created a loot system based on priority, then when we got in there we just rolled… that’s how I wound up with the T4 Gloves off of Curator before the tank got them)  There were a couple of other issues but suffice it to say that asking the GM to change all these things would have meant asking him to let us take over his guild…  so the logical solution seemed to be to make our own guild.  Needless to say, the GM was not happy about us leaving.  We effectivley ended raiding for them for at least a little while, but I sincerely hope they’re back up and running as soon as possible. 

We got a good start to our little endeavor.  We got a few friends to transfer servers and a few recruits and we went into Kara last night.  We one shotted Attumen, Moroes, Maiden, Curator and downed the Big Bad Wolf in 2 tries.  I got Bands of Indwelling off of Maiden, which was fabulous since to quote Ego, I should have been wraping Fruit-By-The-Foot around my wrists so I could at least have a snack.  It was so smooth in there.  We did great for our first try playing together.  If we’re all available I think we’re going to go try the Chess Event, and maybe Shade or Illhoof tonight before the reset.

I promise to have a real post up today or tomorow.  As you can tell I’ve been very busy.  Here’s a link to our website if anyone is curious.  We threw it together in about 24 hours so it’s not real high quality stuff, but it does the job.

Explore posts in the same categories: My Progress

3 Comments on “Update”

  1. Kestrel Says:

    Sounds like you made the right decision for yourselves. And a successful run in Kara like that is good reinforcement!

    Bleh…corporate firewall/filter is blocking your guildsite (I think it’s the “dkp” in the URI–someone in corporate IT hates WoW, methinks).

  2. Matticus Says:

    Thanks, you reminded me to finish up my article I had on Loot Systems the other day. Have you thought of one for your new Guild?

  3. Galadria Says:

    @Kestrel
    Yea, we’re really happy with our decision. Things are going really well. We just have to be careful not to make running the guild a second job and still have fun with it. The run last night was just about the most fun I’ve had playing WoW. I competly understand! Once someone in IT figures out that WordPress is a blog site and that dkpsystem is WoW related, I’m screwed!

    @Matticus
    The loot system we have is on the website, but in a nutshell we’re going with a standard DKP system. You get points for downing a boss, being early, full clear bonus, etc. You only spend DKP if someone bids against you in Kara and the 25-mans will have minimum bids. We looked at a lot of different systems and this one fits the best with the way we think about things.


Comments are closed.


