Lots of walking and a “Duh!” Moment

*****I wrote this a while back so it’s a little out of date, but worth posting anyway*****

We have run Sethekk Halls twice in as many days and I got 2 awesome drops.  The first run, I got my Hallowed Trousers and the second run I got Light Woven Slippers.  Yay! New gear!  I can’t wear either yet, but hopefully very soon.  

I’m going to talk about some troubles I’ve been having running instances and what (hopefully) my solution is.  My problem is this:  I die!  A lot!  I’m dying so much my ‘Lock can’t keep a Soulstone on me!  It’s costing me a small fortune in repair bills and potions.  I’m an alchemist but I don’t have all day to do nothing but farm for herbs.  I guess the one upside to all of this dying is that it has made me much better at using Fade.  My hubby thinks I just need more stamina.  I’m inclined to agree with him, my health is not where I’d like it to be, but I don’t’ think that’s the problem.  Here’s my theory.  I think I’m spending too much time healing other party members besides the tank.  Since I usually have the mana and casting time when I see my ‘Lock or Mage taking damage, I’ll throw them a HOT.  What I think is happening is that when the group moves on to the next target or when the CC breaks, there is not enough aggro on the tank or the CC’er to maintain aggro when the next 1 or 2 ticks of the HOT go. So here’s what I’m trying out differently and on the 2 above mentioned Sethekk runs it worked out well.  The only one to get a HOT is the tank.  The only time another player gets healing is if they have taken enough damage to warrant a full heal.  Seemed to work better, I think I only died on the one party wipe.  The other advantage is that I think it will allow me a little more time mid-fight outside of the FSR and improve my mana efficiency.  I think we might run Sethekk again to get the ‘Lock his dungeon pants, so I’ll give it at least one more data point before I consider the problem solved. 

While I’m on the subject of Sethekk Halls, at some point someone realized that the Time-Lost Controler guys are Undead.  *smacks her forehead*  Duh!  Why didn’t think about that on the first run.  Hello, Shackle Undead!  It worked really well.  We didn’t have nearly as many problems with the mind control totems on the second run as we did the first.  I’m going to share a macro with you that I got from the Egotistical Priest.  Made it very easy to keep the sucker CC’ed

/clearfocus [modifier:shift]
/clearfocus [target=focus,dead]
/clearfocus [target=focus,noexist]
/focus [target=focus,noexist]
/cast [target=focus] Shackle Undead

I’m also going to copy her explanation of how the macro works, because quite frankly, I can’t come up with a better way to explain.

Line 1) This will clear (empty) your focus, if the shift key is being held down. This becomes important in fights where you may have to swap shackle targets mid-fight, before your first shackle target dies. I’ll revisit that at the end, when it’ll make more sense.

Line 2) This will clear your focus if your current focus is dead.

Line 3) this will clear your focus if your current focus doesn’t exist.

Line 4) This will reset your focus to your currently targeted mob.

Line 5) This will cast Shackle Undead on your focus mob.

Here’s the basics.  Start the fight with your Undead victim targeted, when your ready (take into account the 1.5 sec cast time, I usually push the button when the tank cocks his gun to pull) hit the macro button and go about your business of healing.  When you need to re-Shackle (yes you do have to keep an eye on the little guy) simply press your happy macro again and it will re-Shackle without de-selecting your current target.  Pretty cool huh?  Should you need to change Shackle targets mid fight, simply hold shift while pressing your handy-dndy macro button.

If you want to read more about how Shackle works or more details about how this macro works, go see her post here, and for that matter read her blog while your there.  She inspired me to write this one even though I’m not the most knowledgeable person out there, I’d like to share my thoughts and experiences.

The moral of the story is:

1)      Watch your aggro!  Your tank will love you!

2)      Be flexibile.  Your play style will have to change several times throughout the course of your characters lifetime.  Be willing to try new things and become a better player.

3)      Use every tool at your disposal!

 

Tune in next week for:

 

Some thoughts on Tailoring and Raid gear

Explore posts in the same categories: Instance Tactics, Macros, Spells

