Instance Roles

Kirk over at Priestly Endeavors wrote a very interesting article about instance roles.  Short Story: group is divided into Controllers, Killers, and Healers (tank is a Controller btw).  I can see how this works.  Controllers keep the mobs incapicated or engaged with the correct player.  Killers follow directions of the Kill Team Leader and kill mobs one at at time.  Healers… well that’s self-explanitory.  I wrote a comment there and instead of seeming argumentative, I decided to simply put a post here.  My issue is this, I have a problem lumping the tank and CC’ers into one group.  The objective of the 2 are different.  Let me step back and give my definition of both (considering both to be roles a player will take on in group situations):

Tank – a player who holds the attention of one or more mobs while other members of the group kill it

CC – a player who takes a mob out of combat, using one of many techniques available, until the tank is ready to tank it.

(Let me insert here that kiting is a hybrid.  The mob is not incapicated, yet idealy is not doing damage to anyone)

To me there is a difference there.  Lets give an example.  In an instance you come across a group of 5 mobs.  Assuming you and your group are on level, I don’t know of a tank that can effectivley hold aggro on 5 mobs; or for that matter, a healer that could keep him alive.  Since tanking all 5 is not feasable, you assingn 2 or 3 players, depending on your group configuration, to take them out of comission.  Tank takes the other 2 or 3 and holds the aggro of them.  Here things get a little fuzzy and depend on the CC types, but suffice it to say that as tanked mobs die, tank picks up the CC’ed mobs and the group kills them.  Here’s where the differences come in.  One of the affore mentioned necessitites for CC-ing is that the tank cannot survive the beating dished out by all 5 mobs.  Also, the CC’er cannot survive the beating of his CC’ed mob.  The objective of the CC is to keep the mob from hitting ANYONE.  The objective of tanking is to make sure the mob is hitting ONE person, namley the guy in plate.  Another difference is healing.  A tank is always going to need healing.  Always, period, end of story.  A CC’er (in a perfect world) will never need healing because his mob isn’t hitting anyone (except the tank, when he is ready for it). 

These 2 roles are different for me.  I can’t lump them together and say they’re both controllers.  Some of you out there may disagree with me and think that when you boil it down they’re the same thing; forcing a mob to do what you want it to do.  But for me, I can’t put the 2 roles into one group, my brain fights it.  They’re different.  Kirk, I guess we respectfuly agree to disagree; and that’s fine with me :-)

Explore posts in the same categories: Instance Tactics

4 Comments on “Instance Roles”

  1. Kirk Says:

    grin – not necessarily disagreeing, or certainly not in whole. As I responded to Karthis, I’m not completely convinced it’s “right” myself. It’s just… mentally re-evaluating groups with which I’ve played using this model has been enlightening. Try it this way…

    There are three roles, Control, Heal, and Kill. A party’s control team should ALWAY include a tank or have an adequate (and usually more challenging) alternative.

    Shackle isn’t sheep isn’t trap isn’t sap isn’t hibernate isn’t Tank. Some are usable in more circumstances than others, and tank is a universal.

  2. Galadria Says:

    As I said, I can see your view point here. They are both essentially forcing a mob to do what you want… whatever that happens to be. My brain just fights putting them together. The healing is different for the 2 roles and a healer is all I’ve had much expirence with (which I guess gives me expirence with CC too, esp now that I’m in Kara) I guess this livley discussion is what makes blogging so much fun!

  3. JJM Says:

    Army of Darkness ;)

  4. Galadria Says:

    @JJM
    Someone already got it, but 10 points to you too JJM!


Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

